“Shape of You”- Ed Sheeran

Image result for ed sheeran shape of you

 

Ed Sheeran, to the horror of my friends, has never been my favorite artist.

That isn’t to say I don’t like him or his music–some songs, like “Give Me Love”, are really great–but for the most part, I don’t seek out his music. When it comes to pop, I’m more interested in Taylor Swift or Demi Lovato. So when I found out that the catchy new song on the radio was by Sheeran, well. I was shocked. More than once I listened to the song in the car, humming along and blissfully unaware who was singing.

For the most part, I don’t think of Sheeran as a fun artist. He’s just kind of bland but I really loved Shape of You. Maybe it was the simple beats, an acoustic song that didn’t sound like one. Since the song came out, I’ve heard a couple remixes where they add dance tracks to the song, and I’ve heard it downtown at clubs like Pubclub, but the original continues to be my favorite.

I don’t think that the lyrics are very unique, but the way Sheeran sings, the way the words come out of his mouth caught my attention the first time I heard the song and every time after that. The lyrics “Girl, you know I want your love/Your love was handmade for somebody like me” are more interesting to hear because the instruments are so relaxed. I can hear more emotion behind Sheeran’s voice when he doesn’t have a wide variety of instruments playing behind him, which is likely why I loved this song so much.

Listen to the song below.

Leave a Reply

