Don’t Kill My Vibe – Sigrid

“You think you’re so important to me, don’t you?”

There’s nothing worse than being talked down to. Especially by someone who thinks that your world revolves around them. However, someone else’s failure to recognize your worth is not a failure of your own, Sigrid’s track Don’t Kill My Vibe reminds us. Empowering, relatable, and most of all, catchy, this track gifts you with all the words you didn’t know how to say to the people who are always trying to drag you down rather than build you up. The 20-year old Norwegian singer’s first single is an anthem for the underdogs; for those underestimated few who know all too well how it feels to constantly have that person in your ear offering an unwarranted opinion.

Sigrid channels all of this frustration into a gloriously-upbeat pop tune that I hope will come to rival the likes of Katy Perry and Taylor Swift for the top of the pop charts. Don’t Kill My Vibe could use the radio time – and frankly it’s a song I wouldn’t mind hearing over and over again, as you can pick out different elements of the track with each listen. For instance, the first time I heard it I picked up on the slight accent in Sigrid’s voice, but on another listen through it was the hard-hitting piano chords that I found myself paying more attention to.

With a name that means victory, that is certainly what Sigrid accomplishes with a debut single like Don’t Kill My Vibe. The pop tune leaves us wanting to listen to it over and over again, and if what is to follow is anything like what has already come, I cannot wait to hear what Sigrid is going to give us next.

Give the track a listen below!

Image Credit: Copyright Island Records / Universal Music

Leave a Reply

